Tags

, ,

Spaghetti Squash

I’ve been staring at spaghetti squash recipes for quite a while now trying to decide if and when I was going to give one a try. So, last week I finally decided I was ready to try one. I went to my grocery store (which is in the midst of being remodeled and a few departments are lacking at the moment, namely produce) and there were no spaghetti squash to be found. At that point I considered giving up my spaghetti squash plan, but being endlessly stubborn, I instead decided to try a few other stores first. I’m happy I did because this was seriously tasty and we well worth the extra trip to the store.

We’ll probably be making this more in the new year, when the hubs and I return to eating healthy. Right now I think we’ve both kind of let the spirit of holiday over indulgence take hold (when I post the apple bacon grilled cheese I made the other day, you’ll understand…).

1 spaghetti squash
2 Tbs Olive oil
½ Sweet onion, minced
½ Red bell pepper, minced
¼ Green bell pepper, minced
3 – 4 cloves Garlic. minced
Health dash Dill, rosemary, and black pepper
1 Tbs Lemon juice
½ c shaved parmesan cheese

Pre-heat oven to 375

Cut the spaghetti squash in half, lengthwise, and gently scoop out seeds. Lay cut side down in a baking pan and add ½ in of water. Bake for about 30 minutes, or until tender when pierced with a knife.

While the squash bakes, heat olive oil in a medium sauté pan. Add onion and bell peppers, sauté for 6 to 8 minutes. Add garlic and spices and cook for another 5 minutes. Add lemon juice, cook for a final 8 minutes. Remove from heat and set aside.

Using  forks, shred the baked squash and transfer to a bowl. Toss with the veggie and spice mixture and the parmesan.

3 servings: 1 serving  – (estimated) 234 Calories, 13.8 g Fat, 26.9 Carbs, 5.1 g Fiber, 9.3 g Protein

