Tags

, , , ,

Apple Bacon Grilled Cheese Sandwich

I am a bit of a cheese fanatic, and I’m pretty darn fond of bacon and apples too. So, the other day when I was reading one of my favorite blogs(Link) and she mentioned her love of bacon, apple, grilled cheese; I instantly knew I needed to make it. Last Friday ended up being the perfect opportunity. You see, the hubs and I do Friday-night-date-night every week. However, I had won some tickets for us to go see AWOLNATION in Atlantic Station on Saturday, so we decided to make that our date-night for the week.

So, as I pondered what fun thing I wanted to create for dinner, the apple, bacon, grilled cheese came to mind. It was horribly gloomy outside and my emotional mood wasn’t much better, and I thought something as comforting as tomato soup and grilled cheese would be perfect. Unfortunately, the tomato basil soup recipe I tried isn’t worth sharing (it was mediocre at best) but the grilled cheese were amazing! Splurge and make these VERY soon. It will be worth it, I promise!

P.S. I am not giving the calorie count on these because I don’t want to know…

2 oz fat free cream cheese, room temperature
3 green onions, diced
Dash nutmeg
1 tsp Dijon mustard
5 slices Thick Cut Bacon
½ apple, sliced (honeycrisp)
3 oz Aged greyer
4 oz Wine aged goat cheese
4 slices of Rosemary bread (doesn’t have to be rosemary bread, but I think it added really good flavor)

Using a fork, thoroughly combine the cream cheese, green onions, nutmeg and mustard and set aside.

Cook your bacon to your preferred level of done-ness (I like mine very crispy) and set aside on paper towels to drain.

Spread the cream cheese mixture on to all four slices of bread. On two pieces, layer on the bacon, greyer, apple and goat cheese; top each with one of the remaining slices of bread.

I cooked my sandwiches on a George Forman grill, you could also use a Panini press if you have one, or just pop them into a hot skillet. But either way, cook for 5 to 8 minutes, or until your cheese is melty and bread is browned.

Cut in half and serve.

