Tags

, , ,

Crockpot Venison Chili

My hunting-enthusiast brother-in-law shared some of his recent bounty with us in the form of Alaskan Salmon, spicy venison sausage and venison stew meat. While the hubs and I had ideas for how to use the first two almost instantly, I puzzled over how, exactly, I wanted to use the stewing venison. I was leaning towards some kind of crockpot soup, and one very cold day back in December I decide it would make a lovely chili.

Now for those of you who aren’t inclined to eat bambi, it can easily be switched out for some beef stew meat. In my opinion, the venison added a wonderful flavor and fell apart beautifully, really incorporating itself into the chili. I did encourage the meat to shred by using a fork to pull apart the chunks around 7 hours of cooking (I was actually home the day I made this, so I stirred it every few hours). Topped off with some cheddar cheese and a hunk of corn bread… It made for a hardy, filling winter meal!

Crockpot Venison Chili

1 Lb venison stewing meat, cubed
1 small sweet onion, chopped
1 green bell pepper, chopped
1 c Hot salsa
1 Tbs chili powder
1 tsp cumin
1 can (28 oz) petite diced tomatoes
1 can (14 oz) navy beans
1 can (14 oz) kidney beans
1 beer (I used bud light)
Dash black pepper and salt

Combine all ingredients in the crockpot and cook on low for 8 to 9 hours.

4 servings: 1 serving – (estimated) 458 Calories, 3 g Fat, 60 Carbs, 0 g Fiber, 49 g Protein

