Tags

, , ,

Black Eyed Peas

The hubs and I welcomed the New Year properly last week with a dinner of black eyed peas and collard greens (and, of course, corn bread). I knew I didn’t want to spend all day cooking since it was my last day of vacation, so I decided to try out a crockpot black eyed peas recipe. After checking out about 10 different crockpot and non-crockpot recipes I finally just threw a bunch of stuff in my crockpot and turned it on low, stirring it once every few hours (when I could be bothered to get up of the couch).

About an hour before web ate I dragged myself off the couch to get the collards started and decided the peas were looking a little watery, so I pulled off the lid and let the cook, uncovered for the last hour. That seemed to fix the problem, thankfully! All in all, I thought this was a great version of black eyed peas and I really liked that it cooked itself and saved me the hassle.

Side note – not all of the recipes using dried peas said to soak them overnight, but I did. Habit I guess, since you always soak dry red beans before cooking them…

1 lb bag dried black eyed peas (sorted, soaked overnight, and drained)
1 Ib pork, chopped
½ sweet onion, chopped
½ green bell pepper, chopped
4 cloves garlic, minced
2 celery stalks, chopped
1 cube beef bullion
3 c water
1 bay leaf
Ground black pepper, red pepper flakes

Combine all ingredients in a crockpot and cook on low for 8 hours. Stir occasionally – if home, if not, don’t worry about it.

8 Servings: 1 serving  – (estimated) 340 Calories, 10.9 g Fat, 36.7 Carbs, 7 g Fiber, 27.3 g Protein

