Tags

, ,

Turkey Spaghetti Squash Alfredo

I know, I know… That doesn’t even kind of sound like it falls into my supposedly healthy eating plans for the New Year. But I promise it actually does! Using the squash in place of real pasta saves lots of calories and carbs. Plus, if I’m being honest this is not a true alfredo sauce. I’m pretty sure anyone Italian would be horrified by my use of flour and milk. Now, in all honesty, I didn’t love the turkey in there (hubs liked it). I think I would probably switch it out for a white fish or shrimp next time.

Changing the olive oil out for butter might also be a good way to add a little more richness to this dish (and with as light as the rest of it is, I think you could do so without feeling too guilty).

and a little kitty cuteness to make your day better!

and a little kitty cuteness to make your day better!

1 Spaghetti Squash
2 Tbs Olive Oil
1.5 c Mushrooms, sliced
¾ Sweet Onions, finely chopped
½ Green Bell Pepper, finely chopped
4 Cloves Garlic, minced
Healthy dash black pepper and garlic powder
2 c Skim Milk
1.5 Tbs Flour
1 lb Turkey Breast, chopped
1/3 c Parmesan, shredded

Pre-heat the oven to 350⁰.

Cut the squash in half and remove the seeds. Place cut side down into a foil lined baking pan. Add about ½ a cup of water and bake at 350⁰ for 30 to 40 minutes.

While that cooks, heat the olive oil in a large sauté pan over medium heat. Sauté the mushrooms, onions, peppers and garlic for about 20 minutes. Whisk together the milk and flour and add to the sauté pan. Bring to a low boil and reduce heat to low. Add in the turkey and parmesan, stirring regularly.

Using two forks shred the baked squash and transfer to a bowl. Toss with the alfredo sauce and serve.

4 Servings: 1 serving  – (estimated) 355 Calories, 14 g Fat,3 6 Carbs, 2.6 g Fiber, 47 g Protein

