Tags

, ,

Balsamic Glazed Brussle Sprouts

Confession – I was a brussel sprout hater. I had never eaten them in a form that I considered palatable. I still don’t enjoy them boiled or steamed, but that’s a conversation for another day. Because this is about how much I love and adore balsamic glazed brussel sprouts; and the hubs loves them too!

The balsamic vinegar adds a rich sweetness that really helps the humble little sprout shine. It caramelizes and turns into an amazing sauce. Ooo and did I mention there’s only 4 ingredients (if you don’t count the water I occasionally add while it cooks)? In the winter these are often a go-to veggie side dish in our house – and I never thought I would say brussel sprouts are one of my go-to side dishes.

Balsamic Glazed Brussle Sprouts

If you haven’t tried a brussel sprout in a while I suggest you give them another shot sometime this winter. You might be surprised at how tasty they are sautéed up this way! (Side note, I recently read onions are exceptional good for women’s heart health, and with as much as I cook with them I am fully expecting to live forever! But really, for my fellow ladies, check out this article about onions and happy heart health month)

½ sweet onion, chopped
1 lb brussel sprouts, washed
2 cloves garlic, minced
¼ c balsamic vinegar

Slice the bottoms off the brussel sprouts and cut each one in half.

Combine all ingredients in a medium pan over medium heat. Cook for 20 to 30 minutes, or until the brussel sprouts are easily pierced with a fork. (if the vinegar over thickens and starts sticking to the bottom of the pan you can always add a splash of water to keep things from sticking. I’ll usually add a few tablespoons of water once or twice while cooking. Just make sure you cook all the water off just before serving.)

2-3 servings: 1 serving – (estimated) 109 Calories, 0 g Fat, 27.4 Carbs, 0.2 g Fiber, 3.8 g Protein

