Tags

, ,

Blueberry Coffee Cake

I ran into Trader Joe’s the other day to get some snacks for the office and ended up walking out with a huge pack of fresh blueberries. They were on sale and I couldn‘t resist them. They may be some of the prettiest, plumpest berries I’ve seen in a while. Last night I decided I needed to bake something sweet with my pretty new berries and ended up deciding on a coffee cake (I think I flipped through 50 different recipes before deciding on a cake).

I was trying to make something that wasn’t too unhealthy, but was still satisfied my craving for dessert. This definitely fit the bill. The crumbly topping adds that extra sweetness and a great crispness, makes an amazing dessert (a darn good breakfast too, I speak from experience!).

Adapted from All Recipes

3/4 c packed brown sugar
¼ c shortening
1 egg
½ c water
2 c all-purpose flour
2 tsp baking powder
½ tsp salt
2 c fresh blueberries
½ c white sugar
1/3 c all-purpose flour
½ tsp ground cinnamon
¼ c slivered almonds
¼ c butter, melted

Preheat oven to 375⁰ F. Grease one 8×8 inch pan.

Cream together brown sugar, shortening, and egg.

In a separate bowl mix together 2 cups flour, baking powder, and salt. Stir into sugar mixture, alternating with water. Gently fold in blueberries.

Pour into greased 8×8 inch pan.

To make topping: Combine white sugar, 1/3 cup flour, cinnamon, and butter. Sprinkle over cake batter.

Bake for 25-30 minutes.

10 Slices: 1 Slice – (estimated) 279 Calories, 10 g Fat, 32 Carbs, 1.1 g Fiber, 5 g Protein

