Tags

, ,

Chicken Parmesan

There is something particularly pleasant about long, quiet winter weekends. The hubs and I have enjoyed quite a few of those recently, just snuggling on the couch and cooking. They also afford plenty of time to cook; which, considering I generally get lax about watching what I eat on the weekends, is something I take advantage of. This weekend as I was getting the shopping list together the hubs decided he wanted chicken parmesan for dinner.  Of course, he really liked it, which considering his general love of Italian food and the fact that it was made at his request, wasn’t wildly surprising. I was pretty darn fond of it myself.

Chicken Parm

I’m afraid this isn’t exactly a particularly healthy or light version of this delicious meal, just one I though was worth sharing. I did make a little bit of effort to make it lighter by using part skim mozzarella and a healthier marinara, but that’s as far as my efforts went. I tried to save a few calories by skipping the pasta and had it with a slice of bread (I’ll share that recipe soon) but the hubs wanted his over pasta.

1 Tbs olive oil
½ sweet onion, chopped
½ orange bell pepper, chopped
6 – 8 white mushrooms, sliced
4 cloves garlic, minced
2 sprigs of rosemary, minced
1 jar marinara (I used Kroger private selection)
1/3 c red wine
2 chicken breasts, butterflied
½ c flour
Dash black pepper, garlic powder, paprika, and parsley
1 egg
2/3 c bread crumbs
½ c olive oil
1.5 c part skim mozzarella
1/3 c shredded parmesan

Pre-heat oven to 375⁰.

Heat 1 Tbs olive oil over medium heat in a large sauté pan, add onion, bell pepper, and mushrooms. Sauté for 5 minutes, add garlic, rosemary and marinara and reduce heat to low. Allow to simmer while you cook the chicken.

Pour ½ c olive oil into a medium cast iron skillet, over medium-high heat.

Line up three plates; combine flour and spices in the first, whisk the egg and pour onto the second, and pour the breadcrumbs onto the third. One breast at a time; dredge chicken in flour, than moisten thoroughly in egg, finally thoroughly coat with the bread crumbs and gently lower into hot olive oil. Fry on until golden brown, about 43 minutes and then flip. Remove from oil and allow to drain on paper towels.

Spoon a thin layer of marinara sauce into the bottom of a casserole dish. Lay the chicken on top of this. Top each breast with 1/3 of the mozzarella and parmesan. Top with the remaining marinara. Layer remaining cheese over the top (I sprinkled a few bread crumbs over this as well for a touch of crunch).

Bake for 25 to 30 minutes.

4 Servings: 1 Serving – (estimated, without pasta) 660 Calories, 39.1 g Fat, 29.9 Carbs, 4.2 g Fiber, 44 g Protein

