Tags

, , , , ,

Coconut Lentil Soup

I’m relishing in the beauty of today’s weather because apparently the groundhog was right and spring is arriving slowly this year. The last few days have really been beautiful, but it’s supposed to be back down in the high 40’s later in the week (which is definitely not considered spring weather here in the south). I’m still making lots of soup and warm-filling dinners, while desperately hoping spring will make a proper debut soon.

I’ve been a bit partial to soups lately since they are gloriously easy when tossed into a crockpot. This one was quite pleasant and definitely worth trying. I do think I’ll double the coconut milk and lentils (only used the little bit I had sitting around my pantry) and probably add a bit more ginger as well, next time I make this. I might toss in a bit of cilantro as well.

Coconut Lentil Soup

½ c dry lentils
1 onion, chopped
1 yellow bell pepper, chopped
2 stalks celery, chopped
4 cloves garlic, minced
1 ½ in chunk ginger, peeled and minced
1 can light coconut milk
1 can chickpeas (15oz) drained and rinsed
4 c chicken broth (1 box)
3 Tbs tomato paste
1 Tbs curry powder
½ tsp cinnamon
2 Tbs Sriracha
2 Tbs lime juice

Combine all ingredients (except the lime juice) in a crockpot and cook on low for 8 to 9 hours. Add the lime juice just before serving.

5 Servings: 1 Serving (Approximately) 215 Calories, 6.1 g Fat, 33.3 g Carbs, 4.9 g Fiber, 10.1 g Protein

 

