Tags

, , , , ,

Sweet Potato Crusted Goat Cheese Quiche

I know it might sound strange, considering how often egg-based dishes crop up on here, but I’ve only developed an appreciation for eggs as an adult. Didn’t like them as a kid, and still don’t like them in some forms. In that vein, I’m generally not much of a quiche person as I often find them to be overly eggy with not enough other stuff in there. But, when I saw a goat cheese quiche with a sweet potato crust on Pinterest the other day, I had to give it a try.

I’m sure you’re just shocked when I admit that I didn’t actually look at the recipe from Pinterest when making this. As with most the things I cook, it was inspired by a recipe and then took on a life of its own as I started thinking about how I wanted to go about making it. The hubs and I both loved it and it will definitely be added to my go-to dinner/brunch foods, especially because it was a surprisingly healthy meal (it’s got a higher fat content than I would like, but it’s still not too bad).

Sweet Potato Crusted Goat Cheese Quiche

½ Lg  sweet potato, shredded
1 Tbs rosemary olive oil
1 Lg egg
1 Tbs garlic bread crumbs

1 Tbs olive oil
2 Tbs white wine
½ sweet onion, chopped
2 tsp olive oil
4 – 6 oz ham (I used leftover honeybaked ham from Easter)
½ green bell pepper, chopped
4 – 6 baby portabella mushrooms, chopped
Dash black pepper, dill rosemary
¼ c white wine
4 eggs
4 oz herb goat cheese

Pre-heat oven to 350⁰.

Mix together the sweet potato, rosemary olive oil, egg and bread crumbs. Press mixture into a greased pie plate, creating a crust. Bake for about 25 minutes.

While the crust bakes, combine the onion, 1 Tbs olive oil and 2 Tbs white wine in a small sauce pot over low heat. Keep lidded and stir occasionally until onions caramelize. Remove from heat and set aside.

Heat 2 tsp olive oil in a large sauté pan over medium heat. Add ham pepper and mushrooms and sauté for 5 to 10 minutes. Add white wine and spices and cook for another 10 minutes or so, until liquid has cooked off. Remove from heat and set aside.

Crumble the goat cheese (I like mine in large chunks) into a large bowl and wisk together with the 4 remaining eggs. Slowly add the ham mixture and the caramelized onions (you want to let both of these cool enough that they won’t cook the eggs when you add them). Mix well and pour into the prepared crust.

Bake for 20 – 30 minutes or until completely set.

3 Servings: 1 Serving (Approximately) 401 Calories, 24.1 g Fat, 13.9 g Carbs, 3.6 g Fiber, 30.6 g Protein

