Tags

, , , , ,

Coconut Greek Yogurt Waffles

My love of cooking is a well-known think among family and friends. I’ve been known to put various kitchen gadgets and tools on birthday/Christmas wish lists. This Christmas I requested and got a waffle maker (thanks to my wonderful in-laws)! Since then I’ve broken out the waffle maker quite a few times and always with delicious results. However, I’ve been trying to create a light and fluffy waffle with greek yogurt. I finally landed on a mix that produced the texture I was looking for, so I decided to play with it a bit and make a coconut version!

These came out nice and crisp on the outside and wonderfully fluffy in the middle. I topped them with a quick pineapple syrup, resulting in a breakfast that tasted a bit like a pina colada. I think I can safely say the hubs and I both loved them.

Coconut Greek Yogurt Waffles

½ c flour
1 tbs sugar
1 tsp baking powder
½ tsp baking soda
½ tsp salt
¼ c shredded coconut
1 egg
5.3 oz vanilla greek yogurt
3 Tbs light coconut milk

Wisk together the flour, sugar, baking powder, baking soda, salt and spices. Add the egg and yogurt and mix until smooth. Wisk in the milk and set aside while your waffle iron heats.

Pour onto a hot, greased waffle iron and cook.

1 Waffle (which easily feeds 2 people): ½ waffle (Approximately) 238 Calories, 2.1 g Fat, 41.2 g Carbs, 0.1 g Fiber, 12.7 g Protein

The fruit syrup was just 2/3 c diced fresh pineapple, 1/3 c water, and ¼ c sugar cooked over medium high heat for about 20 minutes.

