Tags

, , ,

I haven’t posted because, in all honesty, I’ve been a bit of a loss for words. In the face of all the tragedy and heart break last week I just didn’t feel like I had anything to share that would be worth posting. Truthfully, I still don’t. I’m not great at putting my sympathies, condolences and fears into words. Events like the attack in Boston or the tragedy in Texas leave me feeling overwrote, scared and truly heartbroken for the people and families affected. All those affected by last week’s events; you’re in my thoughts and prayers.

Because I generally deal with sadness by cooking (yes, I am aware this is probably not the most healthy approach), I wanted to share this great recipe that is truly a southern comfort food: Sweet Potato Biscuits.

Sweet Potato Biscuits

Sweet Potato Biscuits (Adapted from Paula Dean)

1 c cooked mashed sweet potato (cooled)
½ c buttermilk
1 ½ c flour, plus more for dusting
1 Tbs brown sugar
1 Tbs baking powder
1 tsp salt
6 Tbs cold unsalted butter, cut into chunks

Pre-heat oven to 425⁰ and line a baking sheet with parchment paper.

Whisk together the sweet potato, sugar and buttermilk, set aside.

Combine the flour, baking powder, salt, and butter in a food processor and pulse for 1-2 minute, until the mixture resembles coarse meal. Pour the mixture into a large bowl and add the sweet potato mixture and mix gently to combine.

Sprinkle flour onto your work surface and turn the dough out. Knead gently about 3-4 times with the palm of your hand until the mixture comes together. Pat dough into a ½ in thick round.

Using a floured, sharp knife, cut the dough into biscuits. Place the biscuits on the prepared baking sheet and bake until light golden brown, 12 -14 minutes. Serve with cinnamon honey butter.

