Tags

, , , , ,

Mexican Fiesta Casserole

I’ve been a busy girl lately between traveling for work and an anniversary trip with the hubs. And I totally dropped the ball and didn’t get anything pulled together post while I was gone… woops! I’ve been lazing on the beach and celebrating a year of marriage (crazy how quickly time flies), we actually did cook a bit while at the beach. But, anyhow, I’m home now and getting back in the swing of things. While I may be a little belated, I wanted to share our Cinco de Mayo dinner from last night!

I tossed together my own version of a Mexican fiesta casserole.  It’s probably pretty similar to many of the others out there. Really this was just me trying to pull together something that was Mexican themed, as well as filling and healthy (haven’t been eating particularly healthy while traveling). Plus, I was also trying to use stuff out of the pantry or freezer. The final result was delicious (hubs loved it as well).

Mexican Fiesta Casserole

1 ¼ c brown rice, uncooked
2 1/5 c water
1 tsp chili powder
1 tsp turmeric
1 tsp black pepper
½ tsp cumin
1 tsp olive oil
1 medium sweet onion, chopped
1 orange bell pepper, chopped
3 cloves garlic, minced
2-3 Tbs lime juice
1-2 tsp hot sauce (I used the hubs homemade version)
1 can Black Beans, drained and rinsed
1 c frozen corn
1 c frozen Green Peas
¾ c medium salsa
1 c 2% Reduced Fat Mexican Cheese Blend
1 Container Oikos Plain Greek Yogurt (5.3 oz)

In a medium pot combine rice, water, chili powder, cumin, pepper, and turmeric. Cover, bring to a boil and cook over medium heat until the water has all been absorbed.

While the rice cooks, sauté the onion, bell pepper and garlic in a medium sauté pan over medium heat with the olive oil for about 10 minutes. Add lime juice and hot sauce and cook for another 10 minutes.

Once the rice is cooked remove from heat and stir in the green peas and yogurt. Spread the rice mixture into the bottom of a 9×13 baking pan. Top with ½ a cup of cheese, then layer the salsa, onion mixture, corn, and black beans. Finally top with the remaining cheese and bake at 400⁰ for 20-25 minutes.

Serve and enjoy! <I would suggest fresh avocado

5 Servings: 1 Serving – (estimated) 433 Calories, 8 g Fat, 69.1 Carbs, 9.6 g Fiber, 20.9 g Protein

