Tags

, , , ,

Pear and Blue Cheese Pork Chops

Time has been getting away from me as of late; something I notice most clearly when looking at the blog and realizing I haven’t posted in over a week… Woops. I’ve definitely been cooking, even trying out some awesome new recipes. I just have been lax about photo’s, or the pictures have been too bad to post! In fact, in the last few weeks I’ve made 3 pies that would have been worth sharing if I had useable photos… However, what’s done is done and what I do have to share is quite tasty too.

I was trying to come up with something that would use of the various ingredients I had, as well as help clean out the freezer (Costco = lots of frozen meat and fish). Thus came about these pear and blue cheese stuffed pork chops. They actually came together really quickly and were very tasty. The hubs, who isn’t big on blue cheese, loved them and I know I did as well. These are definitely worth a try.

Pear and Blue Cheese Pork Chops

1/3 pear, cored and minced
1/6 sweet onion, minced
2 cloves garlic, minced
¼ c blue cheese crumbles
Dash black pepper
2 1” thick boneless pork chops
¼ c balsamic vinegar
2 Tbs honey

Pre-heat the oven to 400⁰ and line a small roasting pan with foil (for easier clean-up).

Mix together the pear, onion, garlic, blue cheese and black pepper, set aside.

Using a sharp knife, gently cut a pocket into the pork chops from one edge, leaving the remaining 3 edges intact. Sit pork chops up-right, with cut facing up, in the roasting pan. Fill each chop with half of the pear mixture.

Whisk together the vinegar and honey. Drizzle mixture over the pork chops.

Bake for 20 to 30 minutes, depending on the thickness of the pork chops (I baked mine for 25 minutes, which may have been overkill, but I’m not one to undercook my pork).

 

2 Stuffed Pork Chops: 1 Pork Chop (Approximately) 416 Calories, 21 g Fat, 7.1 g Carbs, 2 g Fiber, 45.4 g Protein

