Tags

, , , , ,

BLT Risotto

So… My blog silence was completely unintentional, things have just been busy and my (already limited) writing ability seemed to have fled for a few weeks. But I’m back with an entirely indulgent recipe for y’all to try out! I haven’t calculated the calories because, honestly, I don’t want to know. And since I don’t really indulge in bacon very often, I generally let myself enjoy it on the rare instances which it happens to be in my house. This recipe was something I kind of threw together as a way to use up the bacon.

Aside from all the stirring that risotto needs, it’s a pretty simple recipe. The flavors are fantastic (because it has bacon…. And anything with bacon is amazing) and the fresh tomato on top is a nice touch. Hubs loved it, as did I. Although it probably won’t be showing up on the menu again anytime soon; it was definitely a tasty indulgence.

1 Tbs olive oil
¼ sweet onions, minced
3 cloves garlic, minced
6-8 strips bacon, cooked and chopped
2 c fresh baby spinach
2 Tbs tomato paste
1 can (14 oz) chicken broth
1 c water
1 c Arborio rice
½ c parmesan (reserve 1 Tbs to sprinkle over top)
1 fresh tomato, chopped

Heat oil in a medium sauce pot over medium heat, add onion and garlic and sauté for 5-10 minutes. Add ¾ of your chopped bacon (reserving a fourth of the bacon to sprinkle over top) and cook for an additional 5-10 minutes. Add the spinach and cook until wilted.

Wisk together 1 c of the broth and the 2 Tbs of tomato paste and add to the sauce pot, along with the rice. Stir constantly, adding the broth and water as the liquid is absorbed by the rice. Once the liquid is absorbed, mix in the parmesan and allow to rest for 5 minutes before serving.

Top with the reserved bacon, parmesan and fresh tomato.

