Tags

, , , ,

Garlic-Balsamic Green Beans

I’m not sure how I’ve managed to go 3 weeks without posting anything… I have a file (albeit small at this time) of recipes waiting to share, photos taken and everything. Apparently I am struggling with the writing portion of this whole blogging thing (something I hear is relatively important…). It’s not that anything particularly wild or crazy is going on in my life, just an apparent accumulation of busyness during the day that leads to laziness once I’m home and means I manage to blog-silent for 3 weeks… woops!

While the recipe below isn’t particularly creative or inventive or unique, it is healthy, incredibly easy and adaptive. This is pretty much the go-to veggie cooking technique in our house. To date we’ve used it on Brussel sprouts, green beans, mushrooms, squash and asparagus;  was great with all of them. We do switch out the bell pepper for onion sometimes. All in all, I just wanted to share one of our favorite dinner sides.

Garlic-Balsamic Green Beans

½ red bell pepper, sliced
4 cloves garlic, minced
2 c fresh green beans, ends trimmed and cut in half
4 oz mushrooms, washed and sliced
½ c balsamic vinegar

Combine all ingredients in a medium sauté pan over medium heat. cook, stirring occasionally for about 25 minutes, or until the beans are fork tender. If the vinegar reduces too much, just add a little water and continue cooking.

2-3 Servings: 1 Serving – (estimated) 97 Calories, 0 g Fat, 17.8 Carbs, 3.5 g Fiber, 2.7 g Protein

