Tags

, , , ,

 

Red Velvet Brownies with a Cream Cheese Swirl I don’t know if it’s all the rain we’re getting or what, but my sweet tooth has been in overdrive lately. Fortunately, I’ve had plenty of excuses to bake recently; showers, parties, promotions. These treats were created in honor of a co-workers promotion. He’s a red velvet cake fan and had been asking me when more cake was coming ever since my sister’s shower back in March (I made WAY too many mini-cupcakes and ended up bringing the leftovers to the office). So, in honor of his recent promotion (and in light of my disinclination to deal with frosting something) I created my variation on a red velvet brownie.

I think most of these brownies we’re gone by noon! They’re definitely worth making. And if you want them to come out properly red, don’t skimp on the food coloring – mine we’re hardly red due to a limited supply of red in my pantry.

Red Velvet Brownies with a Cream Cheese Swirl

1 c butter, melted
2 c sugar
2 tsp vanilla
½ c coco powder
1 Tbs red food coloring
2 tsp apple cider vinegar
4 eggs
½ tsp salt
1 tsp baking powder
1 ½ c flour

Cream Cheese Swirl

16 oz cream cheese, softened
1 egg
¼ c milk
½ c sugar
½ vanilla
1 Tbs lemon juice

Pre-heat the oven to 350⁰ and grease and flour a 9×13 pan.

In a mixer, cream together the butter, sugar, and vanilla. Slowly add the coco powder, mixing until completely combine. Add the food coloring and vinegar and mix well. Add the eggs, one at a time, mixing well between each. Add the baking powder, salt and flour, mixing until batter is completely combine.

Pour into the prepared pan, spreading to an even thickness.

Whisk together all of the ingredients for the cream cheese swirl. Drop onto the brownie batter and swirl together with a knife.

Bake for 30 minutes and allow to cool before cutting.

