Tags

, , , , ,

Piña Colada Cupcakes

There is just something about a pina colada that makes me think of the beach. I may be because the hubs and I drank quite a few of them on our honeymoon (and on our anniversary trip) or maybe it’s just the tropical flavors. Either way they always have me thinking of beachy things. So, when I was trying to come up with a fun cupcake that would work for a friend’s engagement fiesta, these are what I came up with. I figured they would work with the margaritas everyone would (probably) be drinking and would look cute too! I’m pretty sure they worked on all counts and were definitely worth the calories.

The only thing I might do differently next time is adding a tablespoon or so of lime juice to the batter just to brighten it up a bit. Overall though, these were winners! They went over well at the engagement party and I know I enjoyed mine (hubs even liked them despite his general apathy towards cake). Now I just need another beach/tropical themed event to break these out!

Piña Colada Cupcakes

1 box Pineapple cake mix
1 c unsweetened coconut milk
1/3 c pineapple juice
1/3 c coconut oil, melted
1 box coconut pudding
3 eggs

Pre-heat the oven to 350⁰ and line the cupcake tins with paper liners.

Whisk together all of the ingredients until smooth. Fill the cupcake tins ¾ of the way full. Bake for about 20 minutes; you can test done-ness by inserting a toothpick into the middle of the center cupcake, if it comes out clean, they’re done.

Allow to cool completely before frosting.

(Makes about 24 – 26 cupcakes)

 

Coconut Rum Buttercream

½ c softened butter
3 c powdered sugar
1 tsp coconut extract
2-3 Tbs spiced rum
Flaked coconut and dried pineapple to top

In an electric mixer, beat together butter and powdered sugar until completely combine. Slowly add the coconut extract and rum until the mixture reaches a smooth, spreadable consistency.

Pour 1 – 2 c flaked coconut into a shallow bowl. Spread frosting onto cooled cupcakes and immediately roll frosted tops in the coconut. Gently press a slice of dried pineapple into the edge of the frosting.

