Tags

, , ,

Chewy Chocolate Coconut Cookie

I’m afraid I have been a negligent blogger yet again. I’ve been fighting with my oven, and that makes me a grumpy chef…  and also means I have less to share, since my recipes are getting messed up. As of this moment, we still can’t get our oven to maintain the temperature. We did finally figure out how to get it up to temperature in the first place, but it plummets shortly thereafter. So, if anyone out there in internet-land has a Maytag electric wall oven-microwave combo and it’s working – I’d love your insight. For all I know there is simply a magic button I’m not pressing. But for now, it’s just trying to drive me slowly insane (I know I can’t be the only person who gets inordinately irritated when my appliance/technology fails to do what it’s made to do).

Anyhow, even with the oven on the fritz these cookies were good. They’ll definitely be made again once I get my oven fixed/under control. Also,  this recipe comes with a disclaimer regarding the baking temp and time – it’s a guestimate since obviously my oven didn’t work properly. I think it’s correct, but I’d just kind of play it by ear.

Chewy Chocolate Coconut Cookie

8 Tbs butter, soft
3-4 oz cream cheese, soft
1 c brown sugar, packed
1/3 c shredded unsweetened coconut
1 egg
1 ¼ c flour
½ tsp baking soda
1/3 tsp salt

 

Pre-heat oven to 375⁰ and line baking sheets with parchment paper.

Cream together butter, cream cheese and sugar, add the coconut and egg to the mixture. Mix until completely combine. Slowly add the flour soda and salt, mixing until completely combine.

Drop by the rounded spoonful onto the prepared baking sheets and bake for about 9 minutes.

