Tags

, , , ,

Creamy Tomato Sauce

I don’t know if you have a Provino’s near you, but they are a favorite restaurant in my hubs family. Great garlic rolls and bottomless salad, plus generous and tasty portions. Aside for the killer garlic rolls (seriously, they’re amazing – drenched in garlic butter) one thing they have that I’ve been dying to try to mimic is they’re rosatella sauce. It’s a creamy rich tomato sauce and while I’m sure it’s horribly caloric, it’s worth it!

Now, the recipe below is definitely not an exact replica. Thus why I’m going with a completely different name… It’s still a rich creamy tomato sauce thought with a similar flavor, but it’s closer to the lighter side (plus it helped me use up the ricotta, parmesan and tomato sauce that were taking up space in my fridge). I made the sauce separately and tossed in some sautéed onion, peppers, spinach and sausage at the last minute. I’m pretty sure this sauce would go well with just about anything you want to pour it over.

Creamy Tomato Sauce

2 Tbs butter
1/3 sweet onion, minced
3 cloves garlic, minced
Healthy dash black pepper
Pinch of oregano, thyme, basil, fennel and herbs de provence
1 bay leaf
2 cups tomato sauce
1 c white wine (I used Pinot Grigio, a wine with a little sweetness is best for this sauce)
2 Tbs sour cream
½ c ricotta
1/3 c parmesan

Melt the butter in a large saute pan over medium heat, add onion, garlic and black pepper. Cook for 6 to 8 minutes. Add the spices, tomato sauce, and white wine. Simmer for about 15 minutes, stirring regularly. Whisk in the sour cream and ricotta and reduce heat. Cook for another 5 to 8 minutes. Add the parmesan and whisk until the parmesan is completely combine.

