Tags

, , , , ,

Spinach Mushroom Lasagna Rolls

Yet again I bring you a delicious dish, dampened by a baking time/temp disclosure. “Why?” You may ask, “surely your oven’s been fixed by now!” But I’m (exceptionally) sad to report that we are still attempting to fix my pretty, shinny, brand-new wall oven, the one which has never once worked. At this point the poor repair guy has been out to the house 4 times. I’m pretty much at my whit’s end; the repair guy doesn’t think it’s fixable and Maytag doesn’t want to admit it’s a lemon. Basically, I’m at a standstill and the lack of a functional oven in my home is really starting to stress me out.

But, enough complaining, because seriously that is not why you’re here. These delightful lasagna rolls are why you’re here, and trust me – they’re worth making. They get points, not just for taste, but for being packed with veggies and protein as well as being reasonably light. Hubs loved it and didn’t seem to mind at all that there was no meat. These will definitely be made again in our house (but probably not until we have a working oven again). Plus, I kind of love that they’re so green (it’s definitely my favorite color)!

Mushroom and Spinach Lasagna Rolls

8 lasagna noodles, cooked
3 garlic cloves
1 Tbs fresh basil
½ c fresh spinach, steamed and water squeezed out
1 yellow bell pepper, roasted and skin removed
1 c ricotta (I used part skim)
½ c shredded parmesan
1 tsp olive oil
8 oz baby bella mushrooms, washed and chopped
½ sweet onion, minced
1 small yellow squash, minced
Dash black pepper and Italian seasoning
2 c tomato sauce
½ c parmesans

Pre-heat oven to 450ᵒ (possibly do 400… really not sure on this one).

In a food processor combine the garlic, basil, spinach, pepper, ricotta and parmesan. Pulse until the ingredients are smooth. Set aside.

In a medium sauté pan heat olive oil over medium heat. Add the onion, mushrooms, squash and seasoning. Cook for about 10 minutes, stirring regularly.

Coat the bottom of a 9×13 pan with tomato sauce.

Lay a lasagna noodle on a cutting board (or any flat surface), spread a layer of the ricotta mixture onto the noodle, top with a spoonful of the mushroom mixture and roll up. Lay seem-side-down in the pan. Continue process with the remaining pasta noodles (I had a little bit of the ricotta mixture leftover which I just dropped over the top of the finished rolls). Top the lasagna rolls with the remaining tomato sauce and the parmesan.

Bake for 20 minutes, until cheese is browning on top.

3 Servings: 1 Serving – (estimated) 543 Calories, 15.3 g Fat, 72.5 Carbs, 7.7 g Fiber, 27.1 g Protein

 

