Tags

, , ,

Banana Waffles with Cream Cheese

A pair of slightly over-ripe bananas were sitting in my fruit bowl just begging to be used the other day and due to my non-functional-oven my go-to banana bread was off the table. So, I pondered what to do with them and wavered between pancakes and waffles for a while before finally settling on waffles. I am particularly glad I did because these turned out to be spectacularly tasty and filling weekend breakfast.

As is often the case with my weekend breakfast creations, I was trying to use up a few things languishing in my kitchen before we did our weekly grocery run. As previously mentioned, bananas were the primary inspiration for breakfast, but I also had some cream cheese that needed using as well. Unsurprisingly, the two came together in a very tasty fashion.

Banana Waffles

5 Tbs butter, melted
2 Tbs sugar
1 egg
2 ripe bananas, mashed into a 2 C measuring cup
Add enough milk to the bananas to reach 1 1/3 c
¾ tsp baking powder
¼ tsp salt
1 c + 2Tbs flour

Heat and oil your waffle iron.

Whisk together the butter, sugar, egg, and banana-milk combination. Beat until smooth and fluffy. Whisk in the baking powder, salt and flour.

Cook according to your waffle makers instructions.

Makes about 2 medium-small waffles.

 

Whipped Cream Cheese

4 Tbs cream cheese (I found this great cream cheese and greek yogurt combination at Kroger)
1 Tba almond milk

Whisk together the cream cheese and milk. Spread over the warm waffle.

