So…. I was a very bad food blogger and didn’t remember to snag a picture of these. However, they were so tasty and fall-y that I couldn’t resist sharing them anyway. Just imaging a picture of a meatball smothered in BBQ sauce and you pretty much got it. Nothing too excited to look at, but really quite tasty. Since I can’t entice you with a picture of the food I’ll bribe you with a picture of my sweet pup!

Pup

And yes, if you’re wondering, I’m still without a functioning oven and it’s definitely affecting my cooking (and, obviously my blogging, since it’s been so long since I last posted a recipe). I do apologize, I’m really trying to get back into the swing of things and post more regularly!

Turkey-Apple Meatballs
1 Tbs olive oil
½ apple, minced
1/3 sweet onion, minced
2 garlic cloves, minced
1 tsp minced fresh ginger
½ c apple cider
2/3 c bread crumbs
Dash black pepper
1 lb ground turkey
1 egg

In a medium sauté pan combine the olive oil, apple, onion, garlic and ginger. Cook over medium-low heat for 10 to 15 minutes. Add the apple cider and allow to reduce until most of the fluid is gone.

Combine the bread crumbs, pepper and the cooked apple mixture in a large bowl and mix well. Add the ground turkey and egg and mix until completely combine. Roll into 1 inch balls and line up on a foil lined baking sheet. Bake at 425 for 10 to 15 minutes – until browned (I’ll usually turn them ½ way through so the brown evenly).
Place in a single layer in a baking dish.

Apple BBQ Sauce
1 c apple butter
½ c apple cider
½ c apple cider vinegar
2 Tbs sugar
1 tsp sriracha
1 tsp garlic powder
Dash black pepper
1 c bbq sauce

Combine all ingredients and mix thoroughly. Pour over the meatballs and bake at 400 for 20 minutes.

