Tags

, , , ,

Mexican Deviled Eggs

Things have been a bit crazy lately. I don’t really need to get into all of it right now, but suffice to say that I haven’t been cooking and I’m afraid that I’ve had little to share. However, I think that things are getting back on track. Hopefully I’ll have a working oven again very soon and lots of fun and festive dishes to create and share!

Now, on to the food I have actually managed to create! I made this fun twist on deviled eggs for my little sister’s going away party a few weeks back (she’s joining the Navy and heads off to boot camp soon, we’re super proud). They went over really well; the hubs, lady-of-the-hour, and older sis all gave very positive reviews.

12 hardboiled eggs
1 avocado
¼ c mayo
¼ c plain greek yogurt (or sour cream)
¼ small sweet onion, minced
2-3 Tbs pickled jalapenos, minced
2 tsp lime juice
Healthy dash garlic powder, black pepper, and cumin
Additional Jalapenos for garnish

Sliced eggs in half, lengthwise, and gently remove the yolk. Collect all of the yolks in a bowl and set aside the egg whites. Mash the avocado into the yolks, and then add the mayo, yogurt, onion, jalapeno, lime juice and spices. Mix until smooth.

Spoon yolk mixture into a piping bag (or into a plastic bag with a corner snipped off – works well too!) and pipe into the empty egg whites. Since you’ve added volume, feel free to fill generously! I topped these with halved jalapeno slices. Would also look good with a dusting of paprika.

