Tags

, , , ,

Chocolate Chip Banana Bars with Peanut Butter Frosting

Two rather dejected looking bananas were staring at me this weekend – calling out from the fruit bowl to be used. So while pondering what (and when I was going to have time) to make for a gathering this week, it dawned on me… Banana bread! Only, banana bread isn’t all that enticing at pot-luck type gatherings, so I figured if I add a little peanut butter and chocolate and boom! chocolate chip banana bars with peanut butter frosting were born! (I have no doubt these have been though of and made before, but this was definitely the first time I thought to make a bar version of my favorite quick bread.)

This also leads me to the fact that I am once again the owner of a (mostly, but we’re not going to get into that right now) working oven! It felt a little surreal to just pre-heat my oven, pop the bars in there and walk away for 25 minutes… I’m feeling pretty ecstatic about the timing too, with holiday baking just days away. I seriously thought I might have to forgo my usual baked-treats baskets this year – which was a very sad thought…

But, point of the story – these are wonderful, rich bars and the classic combination of banana, chocolate and peanut butter, perfect as always.

Chocolate Chip Banana Bars

2 very ripe bananas, mashed
1 c sugar
½ c butter, melted
½ c vanilla greek yogurt
1 egg
½ c milk
2 c flour
3 tsp baking powder
1 tsp salt
1 c chocolate chips

Pre-heat oven to 375⁰ and grease a 9 x 13 cake pan.

Cream together the banana, sugar and butter. Whisk in the greek yogurt and egg, mixing until thoroughly combine. Add the milk and mix in. slowly add the flour, baking powder and salt, mixing until there are no lumps. Fold in the chocolate chips.

Pour into the prepared pan, spreading evenly. Bake for 20-25 minutes, until golden brown.

Peanut Butter Frosting

¼ c butter, softened
1 c peanut butter
2 – 3 c powdered sugar
2 – 4 Tbs milk

With an electric mixer, mix the peanut butter, butter and 2 c of the sugar, until completely combine. Slowly add the milk, whipping until you reach a spreadable texture – add a bit more sugar or milk until you reach the desired consistency.

Spread over the hot chocolate chip banana bars.

