Tags

, , , ,

Garlic Goddess: Lemon Gingerbread Truffles/Cake Balls

I don’t know that I’m really doing any resolutions this year… I mean I am planning to keep running, planning to write more often, and the hubs and I have savings goals and what not, but there’s nothing I really feel the need to establish as a resolution this year. Maybe to get the hubs and I out of our holiday food rut (less sugar and more veggies!). Of course, while I’m planning to cut back on the sugar in our house – I’ll be sharing lots of it here! I have a back-log of sweets I created over the holidays, so let the sugar coma commence!

First, we have the cake-balls from this year’s Christmas sweets baskets: Lemon Gingerbread.

Growing up we did this delectable version of gingerbread: spread the warm gingerbread with whipped cream cheese and top with a lemon glaze. So I decided to see if I could translate those flavors into a cake ball. These are a bit different from other cake balls I’ve done, but I really liked how the flavors came together and loved how Christmas-y they tasted to me!

Here’s the gingerbread recipe I used
6 oz cream cheese, room temperature
2 Tbs milk
1 Tbs lemon juice
White melting chocolate (I used about 16 oz)
Lemon oil (or lemon flavoring)

Bake the gingerbread and set aside to cool. Whip the cream cheese with the milk and lemon juice. Crumble the gingerbread and mix thoroughly with the cream cheese mixture. Roll mixture into small balls. Place in the freezer for at least an hour.

Combine 1 tsp of the lemon oil (or lemon flavoring) and the white chocolate in a microwave safe bowl. Microwave in 15 second intervals, mixing between each, until completely melted (or… if you’re like me and microwave-less you can do this just as easily in a double boiler over low heat).

Dip the balls into the chocolate with a fork. Tap the fork gently on the side of the bowl to remove excess chocolate. Place onto wax paper to set.

