Tags

, , ,

Yogurt Cornbread

I’ve started substituting Greek yogurt into all kinds of recipes. In fact, I do it so often now the hubs has actually grown accustom to it and doesn’t even complain anymore – which is really saying something. So, when I happened upon a corn bread incorporating the stuff, I was definitely trying it out.  Plus, it just happens that I found the recipe on Pintrest right before New Year’s Day – which clearly calls for corn bread (yes, I’m way behind on sharing recipes – and I don’t even have a good excuse!). Now we also had some buttermilk sitting in the fridge, so that got added as well.

It made a nice corn bread; good, subtle flavor and texture. Worked beautifully with the black eyed peas (it is my personal belief that black eyed peas should always be served over corn bread – that is just how things are supposed to be done). Also was great reheated later in the week along with some soup. I will be making this again, especially since the hubs and I are trying to make sure we’re eating healthy these days.

Buttermilk Greek Yogurt Cornbread

½ c buttermilk
¾ c plain greek yogurt
1 egg
1 tsp baking soda
½ tsp salt
¾ c flour
¾ c yellow corn meal
¼ c sugar
2 Tbs minced onion

Preheat oven to 400ᵒ – place a 8”-9” cast iron skillet in the oven while it heats up.

In a medium bowl, whisk together all ingredients until relatively smooth.

Once the oven is pre-heated, remove the cast iron skillet and spray with olive oil cooking spray. Pour the batter into the hot skillet and place in the oven. Bake for about 20 minutes, or until top is lightly browned.

8 Slices: 1 slice (estimated) – 134 Calories, 1.2 g Fat, 25 Carbs, 1.2 g Fiber, 5.7 g Protein

