Tags

, , , ,

Banana Bread French Toast

We were lucky and didn’t lose power through the snow and ice that fell over the last few days here in Georgia. I’ve been enjoying the lovely sight of falling snow and a snow-covered yard while working from the comfort of my couch (wrapped up in my heated blanket). Honestly, the timing of this southern snow storm was pretty good for me, since I came down with a lovely case of strep throat on Monday (which I didn’t think adults were really supposed to get)… So I’ve been enjoying a good excuse to stay on my couch.

Another benefit of working from home: time to make real breakfast. My week day breakfast usually consist of yogurt and fruit. So I always get excited when I can trade that out for more fun breakfasts. I made some banana bread earlier in the week, in preparation for the snow (yes, I feel compelled to bake, just in case the power goes out). So it just seemed natural to turn some of that into French toast today! A hardy breakfast to keep us warm for our trek out into the snow (mine was brief since I’m still on the mend). Hubs kept his very simple and just used syrup (well, and I added powdered sugar to make for better pictures) and I topped mine off with some vanilla greek yogurt and a tiny splash of syrup. Both ways were quite tasty.

2 thick slices of Banana bread
1 egg
¼ c vanilla almond milk
¼ c half and half
½ tsp cinnamon
¼ tsp nutmeg
1 Tbs brown sugar
1 Tbs butter
1 Tbs sugar
½ tsp cinnamon

In a 8”x8” cake pan (that’s just what I usually use to soak my French toast), whisk together the egg, milk, half and half, cinnamon, nutmeg and brown sugar. Place banana bread into the egg mixture and allow to soak for 5 minutes on each side.

Pre-heat oven to 450ᵒ.

Melt butter in a cast iron skillet over medium heat. Brown the banana bread on each side, about 4 minutes. Remove from heat. Mix together the tablespoon of sugar and ½ teaspoon of cinnamon in a small bowl and spoon over browned banana bread.

Transfer the cast iron skillet to the oven and bake the banana bread for 6-10 minutes, or until the cinnamon sugar mixture starts to melt.

Serve and enjoy!

