Tags

, , ,

Italian Turkey Meatloaf

I don’t know about you, but I usually try to plan weeknight dinners that are relatively quick. I’m generally hungry and tired and ready to eat when I get home from work. Not saying I don’t occasionally go for more involved dinners, but the general goal is something quick.

I have to say, I’m not sure if I’ll be making meatloaf again anytime soon. Yes, it was delicious, and yes, it was pretty easy – but it took FOREVER to cook (like over an hour). Which does not sit well with a hungry and tired me. Now, I think if I had been expecting it to take so long to cook, I might have felt better about it. But for some reason of another, I was thinking it was going to take more like 30 minutes. And lets be honest… I am just not a happy person when I’m hungry (just ask my hubs). All of that grumbling aside – it was a tasty dinner and the hubs really enjoyed it.

½ c bread crumbs
½ sweet onion, minced
½ tsp Italian seasoning
Dash black pepper
1 egg
2 Tbs balsamic vinegar
1 lb ground turkey
1 ½ c kale, sautéed
3 cloves garlic, minced
½ c grated parmesan

Pre-heat the oven to 400ᵒ.

In the food processor, pulse the garlic, kale and parmesan. Pour mixture into a large bowl and add all of the remaining ingredients. Mix well and press into a rounded “log.” Place in a loaf pan and top with tomato sauce (below).

Bake for 45 to 55 minutes – or until done in the middle.

Tomato Sauce

2 tsp olive oil
1/3 onion, minced
3 cloves garlic, minced
¼ c balsamic vinegar
2/3 c white wine
3-4 Tbs tomato paste
½ – 1 c water

In a medium sauté pan, sauté onion and garlic for 5 minutes over medium high heat. Add the vinegar and wine, cook for another 5 to 10 minutes. Wisk together the tomato paste and ½ c water and add to the sauté pan. Cook down and let the sauce thicken (if it gets too thick, add a bit more water).

4 Servings: 1 serving (estimated) – 358 Calories, 9 g Fat, 14 Carbs, 2 g Fiber, 35 g Protein

