Tags

, , , ,

Three Cheese ravioli

My super cool dad and step-mom got the hubs and I a pasta maker for Christmas this year. Now that I’ve gotten the hang of it, I really am having fun with it – although there was definitely a learning curve. The first time hubs and I tried ti out it was a bit of a disaster. Since then there have been quite a few more successful attempts. And it has been inspiring quite a few dishes, like these ravioli. It makes them much easier to make since you can – relatively – quickly and easily create fresh pasta sheets. When I’ve done ravioli before it was a serious hunt to try and find fresh pasta sheets.

While this was a bit of an involved dinner – it was on a Friday and I made some garlic rolls to tide us over. Plus I had a generous glass of red wine to keep me going! I served this with a simple tomato sauce with mushrooms. Hubs and I both loved this and I’ll enjoy playing with this recipe as I go. And if you’re looking to impress someone with a “fancy” homemade meal – this will definitely do that (so long as you don’t make it in front of them, because it is super messy).

Building the Three Cheese ravioli

2/3 c low fat ricotta
3 cloves garlic
½ c part skim mozzarella, shredded
1/3 c shredded parmesan
1/3 c shredded Asiago
1 egg
Pasta sheets (I used the pasta sheets created by 1 egg and about 1 c of flour)

Get a large pot of water going over medium-high heat.

In a food processor, pulse the garlic, mozzarella and ricotta until smooth. Mix in the parmesan and asiago.

In a small bowl, whisk the egg.

Slice the pasta sheets into rectangles (I was doing something around 2” x 3.5”-ish). Use a baster/food brush to brush the egg over your pasta rectangle. Place a rounded tablespoon of the filling onto the pasta: you’re going for a very high filling to pasta ratio – while still having enough of an edge to create a good seal. Gently press the edges together around the filling, trying to press out any air. I used a fork to press the edges together to create a good seal.

Once the water is boiling, cook the ravioli in small batches, so they don’t stick together. Use a slotted spoon (or spatula) to remove them after about 3 t 4 minutes – once they start to float.

These will go well with just about any sauce!

Yields about 15-18 ravioli: 3 servings – 1 serving (estimated) – 225 Calories, 12 g Fat, 10 Carbs, 0 g Fiber, 15 g Protein

