Tags

, , ,

Apple Ricotta Corn Meal Waffles

This recipe has been sitting on my computer screen glaring at me for two weeks now, asking me to get it together and write something! I feel like I’ve had an increasingly difficult time lately putting together post (beyond the recipe, which is only difficult in the sense that I actually have to remember what I put in something and the amounts). Not really sure why, maybe all the time on Pintrest is slowly sucking my brain dry… Not that that’s likely to get me off Pintrest.

Anyhow, enough whining… These waffles were created mostly because I had leftover ricotta in the fridge. Since I HATE letting food go to waste, I was trying to think up a way to use up the ricotta and ended up deciding on waffle (combining my love of breakfast with my desire to waste nothing). Add a slightly random combination of apple butter and corn meal and you have some lovely waffles with a nice crunch to the outside – which I love. This made far more waffles than the hubs and I could eat, but that’s one thing I love about waffles: extras freeze beautifully. (Seriously though, just pop them in a freezer bag – homemade freeze waffles! Just toss them in a toaster when you want one later.)

½ c ricotta (part skim)
1 egg
½ c apple butter/apple sauce
½ c corn meal
1 c flour
2 tsp baking soda
½ tsp salt
2 Tbs brown sugar
Scant ½ c milk (I used skim)

Whisk together all ingredients and pour about ½ the mixture onto a hot, lightly greased waffle iron. Cook until done and enjoy!

4 Servings: 1 serving or half a waffle (estimated) – 327 Calories, 4 g Fat, 94 Carbs, 1 g Fiber, 11 g Protein

