Tags

, , ,

Italian Sausage and "Drunken" Noodles

Things have been crazy busy lately, hubs traveling twice, my company’s customer conference, weddings, birthdays and our anniversary. I’m afraid that all combines to mean a lot less cooking going on in our household recently. And pretty much no writing (but quite a bit of reading…). However, I do have a few recipes stashed away and waiting to be shared. These noodles are one such dish. I actually made these a few weeks ago, inspired by a recipe on Pintrest. As things are finally slowing down a little bit, I have a moment to actually post it!

This was yet another time I decided to make homemade pasta with my Christmas pasta maker (that thing has been getting some use)! I made extra wide noodles by rolling out my pasta sheet and them hand-cutting them into noodles. They were probably about ½” to ¾” wide. Since they were fresh, I just cooked the noodles right in the sauce, which unfortunately resulted in some stuck-together pasta… I’m thinking next time I’ll probably use a deeper pan if I’m cooking the pasta in the sauce, I couldn’t really stir it in the saute pan… That said, hubs wasn’t complaining about his stuck together pasta! It was a delicious and hardy dinner. One I think we’ll make again.

1 Tbs olive oil
2 spicy Italian sausage, casing removed
½ sweet onion, chopped
½ colored bell pepper
4 cloves garlic, minced
1 zucchini, sliced
Dash black pepper and Italian seasoning
1 can diced tomatoes
1 c red wine
1 Tbs tomato paste
2/3 c water
1 tsp lemon juice
1 Tbs balsamic vinegar

Heat oil in a large sauté pan over medium heat. Add the sausage and cook for about 5 minutes, breaking it up with a fork as you cook. Add the onion, peppers, garlic, zucchini and seasoning, and cook for another 5-10 minutes. Once the onion is beginning to soften, add the tomatoes and wine. Whisk the tomato paste into the water and add to the pan along with the lemon juice and balsamic vinegar. Simmer on low for about 20 minutes.

I made fresh pasta with this and actually cooked it in the sauce – which only took about 4 minutes. Not sure how well that would work with dry pasta, I’d suggest cooking dry pasta separately.

