Tags

, ,

Homemade Spinach Ravoili

I was looking in the fridge the other day trying to decide what I want to make for dinner Friday (we had date night on Thursday, so we were planning to stay in Friday) and noticed we had some spinach that needed to be used. I was already thinking about trying raviolis again, and spinach raviolis sounded like a worthy experiment. Apparently my favorite color likes to make itself known in my food as well – the filling was a lovely green.

As I think I’ve said before, ravioli aren’t the easiest undertaking. They take a surprising around of time and made a through mess of the kitchen. But, I must say – they definitely were worth the effort and mess. Plus this time I ran out of filling before I ran out of pasta… so I tossed together a few goat cheese ravioli and they were awesome. So don’t be shocked if you see goat cheese ravioli sometime soon! (and maybe a pesto ravioli… That’s definitely a possibility will all the basil we have going in the garden)

3 c garlic, sliced
¼ sweet onion, sliced
1 tsp garlic olive oil
2-3 Tbs white wine
1 c fresh spinach
1 c low fat ricotta
2 c parmesan, shaved
1 egg
Pasta sheets (I used the pasta sheets created by 2 egg and about 2 c of flour)

In a medium sauté pan heat the olive oil and add the garlic and onion. Sauté over medium heat for about 5 minutes, add the wine and spinach and continue cooking until the spinach is completely wilted and almost all the liquid has cooked off.

Add spinach mixture and ricotta to a food processor and pulse until creamy and even. Add parmesan and pulse until combine.

Get a large pot of water going over medium-high heat.

Whisk the egg in a small bowl.

Slice the pasta sheets into rectangles (really I just cut it into sections). I work one at a time and brush the egg wash over a pasta rectangle. Place a rounded tablespoon of the filling onto the center, leaving enough of an edge to create a good seal. Gently press the edges together around the filling, trying to press out any air. I used a fork to press the edges together to create a good seal.

Once the water is boiling, cook the ravioli in small batches, so they don’t stick together. Use a slotted spoon (or spatula) to remove them after about 3 to 4 minutes – once they start to float.

I served with a garlic mushroom tomato sauce.

4 Servings: 1 serving (estimated) – 607 Calories, 24 g Fat, 58 Carbs, 7 g Fiber, 38 g Protein

