Tags

, , ,

Banana Bread Waffles

You can probably tell that I’m slightly addicted to my waffle maker… and a sucker for banana bread as well. Thus, the other morning when two sad and over ripe bananas sat on my counter, begging to be used, I was debating back and forth between waffles and banana bread. After a slightly ridiculous amount of time debating the two, I decided to do both – in the sense of creating a banana bread waffle! (yes, if you’re wondering I probably did get over excited about the prospect…)

I really wish I had save some banana slices to dress up the picture a bit, since they aren’t the prettiest, but they were definitely tasty. A fun twist on banana bread, and just as easy to freeze (assuming you actually have any leftovers…). I will say, some of my waffle adventures don’t turn out as well as this did. My attempt at chocolate chip waffles left at least half of the chocolate burned to the waffle iron, and blueberries didn’t fair too well either… But I’ll keep playing with these recipes!

1 very ripe banana, mashed
½ c flour
2 Tbs sugar
1 egg
¼ c almond milk
¼ tsp baking powder
1/8 tsp salt
¼ tsp cinnamon
1/8 tsp nutmeg
¼ c chopped almonds

Mix together all ingredients until smooth. Pour the mixture onto a hot, lightly greased waffle iron. Cook until done and enjoy!

2 Servings: 1 serving or half a waffle (estimated) – 362 Calories, 14.5 g Fat, 47.2 Carbs, 2 g Fiber, 10.2 g Protein

 

