Tags

, , , , ,

BLT Pasta Salad

I don’t know about you, but I tend to have a harder time coming up with lunch, for guests, than dinner. Maybe because lunch is usually my lighter meal. Or maybe because lunch is usually just left-overs… But the other day I was hosting my dad and grandmother (She was visiting from Texas and came over to see the “new” house and visit for the day) and was racking my brain for a decent lunch idea that didn’t involve running to the store. Now don’t get me wrong, I can make a mean sandwich, but that usually requires buying specific items. So, after staring into my fridge for a while I finally came up with something: BLT pasta salad!

Due to the slightly random collection of items in my fridge, it was the tastiest combination I could come-up with. And it was quite tasty, if I do say so myself. It was also quite fun to cook for dad and grandma – as they were very enthusiastic diners! Now don’t get me wrong, the hubs is always very complimentary, but dad and grandma were lavish in their praise. Can’t beat parents or grandparents in the praise department.

1/3 c light mayo
3 Tbs lemon juice
3 cloves garlic
3 – 5 sun dried tomato
5 Slices bacon, cooked and chopped
½ sweet onion, chopped
½ green bell pepper, chopped
12 grape tomatoes, sliced in half
4 oz mini pasta shells
4 oz pasta stars
8 c fresh spinach

In a food processor blend the mayo, lemon juice, garlic and sun dried tomatoes. Pulse until smooth.

Boil the pasta until done, drain and rinse with cool water.

In a large bowl mix the pasta, mayo mixture, bacon, onion, bell pepper, and tomatoes.

Serve over a handful of fresh spinach.

5 Servings: 1 serving (estimated) – 314 Calories, 10.7 g Fat, 41.7 Carbs, 4 g Fiber, 11.9 g Protein

