Tags

, ,

Jackson Square in New Orleans, LA

I know I usually stick to recipes here, but after spending a few day’s in New Orleans I felt like sharing a bit from that trip. I’ve mentioned my family ties to the city before. But ever since my grandmother moved to Texas about 7 years ago, I haven’t been back. When a conference popped up in New Orleans for work this summer, I knew I had to tack on a weekend visit to my beloved city. Unfortunately, hubs was too busy at work to join me, so it seemed like the perfect opportunity for a girls weekend with my old Roomie! We had a blast and ate a ridiculous amount of food – checking out some family favorites and some new places as well.

beignets at cafe du monde

First stop of our trip, the original Cafe Du Monde just off Jackson Square for beignets and coffee. This location is open 24 hours! We got the frozen Cafe Au Lait twice while we were here, it’s almost milkshake-esque and definitely helps beat the rather intense heat.

Oyster Po Boy at Cafe MasperoCafe Maspero is a family favorite – we came here for lunch pretty much every time we were in the city. This is also in the French Quarter and has delicious seafood po boys (I got the oyster and Roomie got the shrimp – they were both delicious, and the bread is something special as well). I didn’t get it this time, but if memory serves me, they have good gumbo and red beans and rice too.

Oysters at Acme Oyster HouseAcmy Oyster House has been a part of the french quarter since 1910 – and in the location on Iberville (which we visited) since 1924. Their food is fantastic and is well worth the wait – the line is out the door pretty much all the time. The char grilled oysters are amazing (we ate a dozen of those – which you can see in the picture) and the bread pudding was delicious as well.

Brunch at The Court of Two SistersWe also did the jazz brunch at the Court of Two Sisters on Royal St on Saturday. Now this was actually not my favorite. While there were tons of options on the buffet, they tended to be a little bland (which I can understand, you don’t want to over spice and light up you customers who don’t normally eat a  lot of pepper). The eggs Benedict was delightful, as was the duck a l’orange and the cajun corn salad. The dessert options were pretty delicious as well. Food aside, the ambiance of the place was great and the jazz was quite enjoyable as well. The rooms and I enjoyed ourselves and left pleasantly full.

Meat Pie at the Cypress Knee Café

Another family favorite was the Cypress Knee Cafe in the Audubon Zoo – weird I know, but the meat pies (that funny looking thing above) are delicious and the red beans were always a hit as well. My grandparents had a family pass, so we usually visited the zoo when we were in New Orleans. And every time we visited the zoo, we had to get the delicious hand pulled taffy (which I actully brought home for the hubs) and the meat pies.

Bananas Foster Ice Cream Cake at Red Fish GrillTwo more amazing desserts while in New Orleans: Double Chocolate Bread Pudding and Bananas Foster Ice Cream Cake both from Red Fish Grill. They even do a table-side flambe on the Ice Cream Cake. Dinner at Red Fish was pretty delicious in general. I had the soft shelled crab (which was one of the daily specials) for dinner which was served over ratatouille and was delicious.

We also had some fantastic bloody marys at 801 Royal just around the corner from our hotel. They put pickled green beans in them – and I may be slightly obsessed with pickled green beans now! They also have a really cute bar – loved the light above the bar and all the drinks we tried were great – including the local beers.  We had some great fried green tomatoes (and decent dinner too) at a little place called EAT New Orleans. I had the red beans and rice, which was tasty – just needed some extra Tabasco.  Our last morning there we both enjoyed a spin on eggs Benedict at Stanley – and both versions were delicious. I think the only negative thing I can say about the Eggs Stanley was I wanted a bit more hollandaise!

Moral of the story – it was a great weekend in a much beloved city. Fantastic food, great music, great shopping and sight seeing, and a very fun girls weekend with my oldest friend. Officially decided that I will not be waiting another 7 years before my next visit!

