Tags

, ,

Layered Carrot Cake

I have come to the conclusion that when things are particularly calm and happy in your personal life, the universe feels the need to keep things even by making things crazy in other areas… At least that is what I tell myself when dealing with the random craziness that has been thrown my way. Don’t get me wrong, I’m not complaining, I am incredibly grateful for so much in my life! I’ve just been a little batty with work recently and the changes swirling about me. Now, the question you’re probably asking at this point is what on earth this all has to do with food. I mean… carrot cake and my life ramblings are not easily connected. Point is, one of my co-workers took a new job and in honor (or in mourning) of him leaving I decided cake was necessary.

Since carrot cake was the declared favorite, I did a little cake research and pulled together my favorite pieces of a few recipes (here, here and my own bumble bee cake). The cake came out wonderfully moist and flavorful – but very dense, it could possibly use a little more leavening agent. Regardless, it was delicious and very well received. I think the whole cake had disappeared with-in an hour of cutting it!

Carrot Cake

Carrot cake

1/3 c coconut oil
2 c Brown Sugar
5.3 oz vanilla greek yogurt
3 eggs
½ c buttermilk
2 c flour
½ tsp salt
2 tsp baking soda
½ tsp ground cinnamon
¼ tsp ground ginger
1/8 tsp ground cloves
2 tsp vanilla
3 c shredded carrots
1 c shredded zucchini

Pre-heat oven to 350 and grease and flour a 13”x9” cake pan, or two round 9” cake pans.

With a stand mixer, whip together the coconut oil and brown sugar. Mix in the greek yogurt until thoroughly combine. Add eggs, one at a time. Mix in the buttermilk. Gently stir in the flour, salt, soda, cinnamon, ginger, cloves and vanilla – stir until completely combine. Fold in the shredded carrots and zucchini.

Pour mixture into the prepared pans and bake for 45-55 minutes.

 

Cream Cheese Frosting

8 oz cream cheese, room temperature
4 Tbs softened butter
3-4 c powdered sugar
3-4 Tbs milk

In a stand mixer with a whisk attachment blend the cream cheese, butter and sugar. Once they are completely combined add the milk, 1 tablespoon at a time, mixing at high speed. Whisk on high until fluffy and easily spreadable. (If it’s too thin, add more sugar, too thick add a little more milk)

