Tags

, ,

Coconut Coffee Ice Cream

My sweet tooth runs to pretty much anything sugary, cookies, cake, pastries, pie, you name it I probably like it. The hubs, on the other hand, favors ice cream. So when he looked over my shoulder and spotted a Pintrest recipe for coconut coffee ice cream, he suggested we try it out. Seeing as I have such a pronounced weakness for sweet things, I immediately said yes. We’ve made ice cream a few times now with our kitchen aid ice cream attachment, which seems to work reasonably well. The best we’ve made so far was the ridiculously unhealthy whole cream ice cream – it was phenomenal.

This was pretty darn tasty, but like every ice cream recipes I’ve tried thus far, aside from that whole cream craziness, it was a little icy. Delicious, but icy. I don’t know if maybe I’m not letting it churn for long enough or if the fat content needs to be a little higher. Regardless, I would still recommend trying this one out if you’re a fan of coffee and coconut!

1 c half and half*
3 Tbs decaf coffee
¾ c granulated sugar
2 cans whole-fat coconut milk
½ tsp vanilla
2-3 Tbs unsweetened shredded coconut

In a small sauce pan bring the half and half to a boil. Add decaf coffee to a french press and pour in the boiling half and half. Allow to steep for 5 minutes. Press the coffee and pour into a medium bowl. Whisk in the sugar until completely dissolved. Stir in the two cans of full fat coconut milk, vanilla and shredded coconut. Put in the fridge for 30 minutes to an hour.

Pour into your ice cream maker and freeze according to directions.

*To do a dairy-free version just use water in place of the half and half.

