Tags

, , ,

Hardy Veggie Rice

Work has kept me on the go recently – 3 conferences and 2 two out-of-town meetings in the a 3 month stretch means that I’ve been eating lots of unhealthy (but often tasty) food. As anyone who attends conference knows, it’s lots of pastries and carbs for breakfast, usually buffets for lunch and then rich dinners. Not to mention the fast food you end up grabbing in the airport. Now, that said, I am not complaining. I’ve enjoyed most of my recent trips and actually made a point to snag a few minutes in the city I’m visiting – not just staring at the walls of the hotel. However, eating like that definitely makes me crave simple and health food.

To me, this rice is a great simple and healthy and hardy dish. Nothing fancy or frilly about it, just brown rice with veggies and herbs. Plus, if you have basil that’s thinking about blooming (which mine was…) this is a great way to use it up! I made this to go with the Beer Peach Chicken I was trying (from Pintrest, of course) and it made for a lovely dinner.

Hardy Veggie Rice

1/2 tsp olive oil
1/2 sweet onion, chopped
1/2 red bell pepper, chopped
1/2 orange bell pepper, chopped
Large handful of basil, chopped (about 1/4 c)
1 1/4 c rice (I used brown)
2 1/2 c water

In a medium pot, heat oil and saute the onion and bell peppers for about 6 minutes. Add the rice, water, and basil and cover. Bring to a boil and reduce heat, simmering until the water is gone and rice is soft – about 25 minutes.

4 Servings: 1 serving (estimated) – 220 Calories, 2g Fat, 46g Carbs, 3g Fiber, 5g Protein

