Tags

, , , ,

Peach Beer Chicken

This recipe was adapted from a lovely Apricot Sriracha IPA Chicken recipe I found on Pintrest. We’ve been enjoying some wonderful Georgia peaches recently, and I just had to try this with the local peaches in place of the apricots. This was great, little bit of heat and great combination of the bitterness of the beer with the sweet peaches. After making this, I was thinking it would probably be good with pork chops and apples in the fall. So keep an eye out – I’ll definitely share it if I give that a try!

One thing I really like about this was by simmering the chicken in the sauce, there was no need for any added oil. Now, I only cook with olive oil, I don’t worry excessively about using it, but it always a good thing when I can reduce the fat in a dish without losing flavor.

Cooking the Peach Beer Chicken

Peach Beer Chicken
2 ripe peaches
4 cloves garlic
2 small red peppers (slightly spicy)
1-2 tsp Sriracha
1 c IPA Beer
2 chicken breast, sliced
½ c green peas

Combine 1 ½ peaches, garlic, red peppers, Sriracha, and ½ c beer in a food processor and pulse until smooth.

Slice the remaining ½ a peach and add to a large cast iron skillet with the preach-beer puree and simmer over medium heat for about 5 minutes. Add the remaining ½ c beer, chicken, and frozen peas, continue to simmer for about 20 minutes, or until chicken is cooked through and sauce reduces and thickens.

Serve with rice (I suggest the veggie rice).

3 Servings: 1 serving (estimated) – 299 Calories, 4g Fat, 18g Carbs, 4g Fiber, 38g Protein

