Tags

,

Spicy Creamy Corn

Summer sweet corn is well worth enjoying – so whenever it shows up at the store, I always grab a few ears. I wasn’t quite sure what I was going to make with it when I spotted it at the grocery store the other day, but I grabbed a few ears non–the-less. After leafing through a “Seasonal Cooking” cook book I came up with a really fun recipe to get me wheels turning. Of course I didn’t even kind of stick to it, but it was a great starting point.

I made this to go with a lime fish dish, which was ok. But the corn was really delightful. In fact, the recipe could pretty comfortably make 3 servings, but hubs and I ended up eating the whole batch! Definitely worth trying.

Spicy Creamy Corn

3 ears corn
1 Tbs butter
¼ sweet onion, minced
3 mini sweet red peppers, minced
½ jalapeno, minced
Dash black pepper
¼ c whole milk
¼ c fat free feta

Cut the kernels off the cobb.

Heat butter in a large saute pan over medium heat, add the onion, peppers and jalapenos. Cook for about 5 minutes. Add the corn and black pepper and cook for about 15 minutes, stirring regularly. Add the milk to the pan and cook for 10 minutes. Toss in the feta and cook for 4-6 minutes. Serve and enjoy!

3 Servings: 1 serving (estimated) – 236 Calories, 6g Fat, 40g Carbs, 7g Fiber, 12g Protein

