Tags

, , , ,

Banana Cinnamon Roll Pancakes

Fall is starting to arrive – while it’s still pretty warm here, the cooler weather is moving in and I could not be more excited. It’s one of my favorite seasons. I love the cooler weather, changing leaves, Georgia Tech football, apples and all the great trappings of the season. As the lovely fall weekends move in I’ve been enjoying my morning coffee on our screened in porch. And of course, that also means a nice weekend breakfast to go along with it.

As I’ve told you about a zillion times, I swear I always seem to have slightly aged bananas by the weekend. Hubs doesn’t eat bananas once they start to get the little brown spots, so I have to come up with other fun ways to use them. I saw a recipe for cinnamon roll pancakes on Pintrest the other day and knew I just HAD to try them. And, because I’m me I did my own version. Hubs and I both really enjoyed them. While I won’t be making them all the time (not the healthiest – the butter makes it pretty high fat) but will definitely be doing an apple version soon.

Banana Cinnamon Roll Pancakes

In other news, I really need to work on my food styling skills…

Banana Cinnamon Roll Pancakes
For the pancakes:
1 very ripe banana, mashed (about ½ c)
¾ c vanilla greek yogurt
1 c flour
2 tsp baking powder
½ tsp baking soda
½ tsp salt
¼ c milk (vanilla almond milk)
1 egg

For the Cinnamon Swirl:
4 Tbs butter, softened
¼ c brown sugar
¼ c chopped pecans
1 tsp cinnamon
¼ tsp nutmeg

Frosting:
2 oz reduced fat cream cheese
1 Tbs milk
2 Tbs powdered sugar

Whisk together all of the pancake ingredients until smooth. Set aside while you make the cinnamon swirl.

For the swirl, thoroughly mix the butter, sugar, pecans, cinnamon and nutmeg. Scrape into a zip-lock bag and snip off one corner (make sure it’s big enough for the chopped nuts to make it through.

Heat your griddle (or a large pan) and spray with cooking spray (I used my griddle, set at 350ᵒ). Pour pancake batter onto the skillet – aim for 6 pancakes, they’ll be generously sized. Using the bag, pipe the butter mixture in a swirl on top of the batter. Try not to get too close to the edge of the pancake. The butter mixture will start to melt into the batter. Once the bottom is cooked, carefully flip and allow the second side to cook.

While that’s cooking, whisk together the cream cheese, milk and powdered sugar.

Dollop 1/3 of the cream cheese mixture onto each set of pancakes and enjoy!

3 Servings: 1 serving (estimated) – 596 Calories, 25g Fat, 71g Carbs, 5g Fiber, 15g Protein

 

