Tags

, , , , , , ,

A Slice of Apple CakeOne of my very favorite things about fall may be honey crisp apples. Seriously, those things are amazing! I could (and try to) eat them every day they’re in season. I grabbed a bag of them at the store the other day – they were little ones, which I’m not use to seeing – and have been enjoying them all week. However, Saturday morning rolled around and I was craving something sweet and fall-y for breakfast and decided to create a healthier apple cake. I was kind of thinking a cross between coffee cake, banana bread and pineapple upside-down cake. As far as I’m concerned, this recipe nailed it!

Now, I had already baked a cake for a co-workers birthday earlier in the week, and my sweet tooth has been a bit out of control lately, so I was going for something a bit lighter and less sugary than normal. I think this does a good job of that while still satisfying that sugar craving. Also, the yogurt does a good job of keeping the cake moist and you don’t really miss the butter. Definitely a fall treat worth trying out of you have some apples to use!

Less-Sinful Apple Cake

Less-Sinful Apple Cake
1/3 c pecans, chopped
2 small apples, chopped
1 Tbs packed brown sugar
Dash cinnamon
¼ c plain greek yogurt
1/3 c packed brown sugar
1 egg
1/8 tsp nutmeg
1/8 tsp cloves
½ tsp cinnamon
1 1/3 c flour
½ tsp baking soda
¼ tsp salt
¾ c apple cider

Pre-heat oven to 350ᵒ. Spray an 8-9 inch cast iron skillet (or cake pan) with baking spray.

In a small bowl, mix together the pecans, chopped apple, tablespoon of brown sugar and a dash of cinnamon. Spread in the bottom the prepared skillet.

Whisk together the greek yogurt, brown sugar and egg. Slowly mix in the spices, flour, baking soda and salt, add the apple cider a lit at a time. Mix until smooth and spread over the apple in the prepared skillet.

Bake for about 35 minutes, or until a toothpick inserted in the center of the cake comes out clean. Allow to cool for a few minutes before inverting onto a plate. Slice and enjoy!

8 Slices: 1 slice (estimated) – 177 Calories, 4g Fat, 30g Carbs, 3g Fiber, 5g Protein, 17g Sugars

 

