Tags

, , , , ,

Curry Ginger Carrot and Butternut Squash Bisque

There has been quite a bit of traveling going on recently. Like, 3 trips in the last month for me and 3 for the hubs as well. Of course, along with the traveling (which has involved lots of fun, so I’m not complaining!) comes the eating and not working out. And my goodness but there has been some fantastic food. Between D.C., Florida and Disney we have done some serious eating. The obvious problem is that it hasn’t been healthy… Delicious, but often full of fat and sugar. So, I was trying to figure out something that would be hardy and light and full of veggies. I was actually reminded recently of a curry butternut squash soup I made two years ago. Thought I’d try a variation on the same theme.

Now, the name of the soup is a bit of a mouthful, I know – but I was trying to figure out what to call it and I just went with the most descriptive option. Verbose, yes, but you know what you’re getting into!

Quick cooking note, you don’t have to simmer for the hour+, I made another very similar variation last week, but with coconut milk, and only simmered for like 25 minutes. However, I will say that the extra simmer time made for a smoother soup. I think mine simmered for the better part of 2 hours before I purred it. Also, I think the greek yogurt helped add to the creamy texture.

One final, but very important note – goat cheese, it is the ultimate addition to the soup. Worth the added fat as far as I’m concerned.

Curry Ginger Carrot and Butternut Squash Bisque
1 Tbs olive oil
½ sweet onion, minced
1 c chopped carrots
½ butternut squash, cubed
1” piece of fresh ginger, peeled and chopped
4 cloves garlic, chopped
2 c chicken broth (I always use reduced sodium)
1 tsp ground black pepper
2 tsp curry powder
Dash coriander, cloves, and cardamom
Small dash cayenne
1 c water
5 oz plain greek yogurt (one of those small cups)

Heat the oil in a large sauce pan over medium heat. Add the onion and sauté for 5 minutes. Add the carrots, squash, ginger, garlic, broth, and spices. Cover and simmer for 1-2 hours on very low heat, stirring occasionally.

Remove from heat and stir in the water and yogurt. Puree in food processor (I had to do mine in batches, pulsing for about 2-3 minutes or until smooth). Return to pot and cook on low for another 5-10 minutes.

3 Servings: 1 serving (estimated) – 183 Calories, 5g Fat, 30g Carbs, 5g Fiber, 8g Protein

With goat cheese (1 oz) which I’d highly suggest: 253 Calories, 10g Fat, 31g Carbs, 5g Fiber, 13g Protein

