Tags

, , ,

Apple Crockpot Pork LoinI know, I know… I’ve been all “I love apples” this fall. But I do – fall apples are the best! And you know what else loves apples? Pork – pork loves apples. Wondering through Kroger the other day I noticed that the pork loins were on sale. Clearly this meant that I needed to combine the two in some fun way. I wasn’t exactly sure what I was going to make, just that it was going to involve apples and pork.

With a busy week ahead I decided that this would make a pretty darn good crockpot meal (and it did). I am a sucker for crockpot meals. There is little better then throwing a bunch of ingredients in a pot and coming home to a delicious smelling house and dinner at the end of a long work day. Served over some brown rice and with some carrots and green peas sautéed in apple cider (to keep the apple theme going) and you have a very hardy dinner.

Not the lightest (since pork tends to be a fattier meat) but quite delicious all the same.

Apple Crockpot Pork Loin
1 lg apple, sliced
1 sweet onion, sliced
1 can pineapple juice
½ c water
4 cloves Garlic, minced
1 tsp Cinnamon
1 tsp ground Black pepper
Dash cayenne
Pork loin

Layer apples and onion on the bottom of the crockpot. Lay the pork loin over them, top with the spices and garlic. Pour the pineapple juice and water over top of everything.

Cook on low for 6-8 hours.

Stir to shred the pork – great over rice!

4 Servings: 1 serving (estimated) – 524 Calories, 19g Fat, 17g Carbs, 2g Fiber, 69g Protein

