Tags

, ,

Apple Buttermilk Coffee CakeI know, I know… I just shared another apple cake recipe like a month ago. But this one is different, I swear! Or, they might be pretty similar, but whatever. I’m really into fall apples and cake; thus there have been some tasty apple cakes around here and I tend to want to share them. I mean, I know I’m not the only one out there with apples just begging to be baked every weekend this fall. Figured I’d share my fun ways to use them.

This came out a bit less crumbly then a typical coffee cake (probably due to the fact that there was no butter or oil). But the nuts and spices create a flavorful cake. And the apples and sugar mixture on top make it rich and a bit decadent. This was pretty stellar hot out of the oven – it was my indulgent Saturday breakfast this weekend. It reheats well too.

Apple Buttermilk Coffee Cake
2 eggs
½ c greek yogurt
1/3 c packed brown sugar
½ tsp cinnamon
½ tsp nutmeg
¾ c chopped walnuts
1 tsp baking soda
1 tsp baking powder
½ tsp salt
2 c flour
1 ½ c buttermilk

2 Tbs butter, melted
½ c packed brown sugar
1 tsp cinnamon
1/3 tsp nutmeg
1 ½ medium apples, chopped

Pre-heat oven to 375ᵒ and spray a 9” cast iron skillet with baking spray.

Whisk the eggs, yogurt and brown sugar, until well combine and fluffy. Add the cinnamon, nutmeg and walnuts and mix thoroughly. Add the flour, salt, baking powder and baking soda, mix until combined. Add the buttermilk and mix until smooth.

In a separate bowl mix the butter, brown sugar, cinnamon and nutmeg.

Pour the batter into the prepared skillet. Top with the sliced apples and sprinkle the brown sugar mixture over everything.

Bake for 45 minutes.

Allow to cool for 5 minutes before cutting.

8 Servings: 1 serving (estimated) – 357 Calories, 12g Fat, 54g Carbs, 2g Fiber, 10g Protein, 29g Sugars

