Tags

, ,

Peanut Butter Cake with Chocolate Frosting

I made a Texas sheet cake the other day and was reminded of just how awesome that hot frosting, poured over a hot cake can be. So, when the office Thanksgiving potluck rolled around I thought I’d try a slightly altered version. If you know me, you know I’m a total sucker for anything peanut butter and chocolate; thus, it was the obvious swap on the classic Texas sheet cake, as far as I’m concerned.

I pulled a few variations on a peanut butter cake and, unsurprisingly, massaged a few to make my own version. In all honesty I think the cake still could have been a little more peanut buttery… and I also think I made my chocolate glaze a little thick, since it didn’t soak into the cake quite as much as I would have liked.

One of the best things about this style of cake, they are quick to make and great if you’re short on time… Say, if you forget to bake the cake the night before and wake up 30 minutes early to throw it together before you head into the office that day… Not that I am saying that’s what happened or anything.

Peanut Butter Cake with Chocolate Ganache
2 c white sugar
2 eggs
1 tsp vanilla
1 c buttermilk
2 c flour
1 tsp baking soda
1 c peanut butter
½ c water
½ c butter

Pre heat oven to 350 and spray a baking sheet with baking spray (I used an olive oil spray).

In a stand mixer, combine the eggs and sugar, beating until golden. Add the vanilla and buttermilk and mix until combine. Gently mix in the flour and baking soda.

in a glass measuring cup, melt the butter, peanut butter and water. Microwave in 30 second bursts until butter is melted, once melted, mix until  the three are completely combine.

Add the peanut butter mixture to the batter, mixing until well combine.

Pour into the prepared pan.

Bake for about 40-45 minutes.

 

1.5 sticks butter
½ dark chocolate chips
3 Tbs coco powder
5 Tbs milk
½ lb powdered sugar

While the cake is baking melt butter and chocolate chips in a sauce pan over medium heat. Once melted, remove from heat and whisk in the cocoa powder, then milk, then powdered sugar. Pour hot frosting over the fresh-from-the-oven cake.

