Tags

, , , ,

Asian Chicken MeatballsThese are a version of one of my favorite foods growing up. I called them green chicken balls – and requested them regularly and mom always whipped them up for me. I was thinking about dinner recently and these just kind of popped into my head. I’m so glad they did too, because they’re just as good as I remember. I’m pretty sure the original version involved some oyster sauce, but we didn’t have any and I think it still came out great.

I will say, they are kind of a messy dinner… between the food processor to create the meatballs and the wok spitting oil… Well – I’ll just say it took a minute to clean up after! That said, I think they’re worth all the mess and fuss. Plus, I’m pretty sure these could be broiled for the initial browning, which would cut down on the oil in the recipe and save you from the spitting oil.

All this said – these are delicious and a fun Asian dinner.

Asian Chicken Meatballs
1 chicken breast
3-4 cloves garlic
½ bunch green onions
1” fresh ginger, peeled
Dash black pepper
½ c oil (olive or peanut) – will probably need to add more
½ sweet onion, thinly sliced
2 Tbs soy sauce
2 tsp brown sugar
1 Tbs Worcestershire
¼ c water
1 tsp sriracha

In a food processor, puree the chicken breast, garlic, ginger, green onions and black pepper.

Heat oil over a medium-high heat in a deep wok (fair warning – prepare for a bit of spitting oil). Roll the chicken mixture into 1” balls and gently drop into the oil 5-6 at a time. Brown on all sides and then remove from oil and set aside on a paper towel lined plate. Add oil if it gets too low.

Once you’ve cooked all of the chicken mixture, drain most of the oil from the pan, reserving about 1 Tbs. add the onion to the pan and sauté for about 5 minutes. Add the soy sauce, brown sugar, Worcestershire, water and sriracha. Return the chicken meatballs to the wok and cook for another 10 minutes.

Serve over rice, with stir-fry veggies for a tasty dinner.

Serves 3: 1 serving + ¾ c brown rice (estimated) – 471 Calories, 22g Fat, 46g Carbs, 5g Fiber, 23g Protein

