Tags

, ,

Apple Nut BreadAs you know, I love weekend breakfasts. I also love the awesome Betty Crocker banana bread recipe that I break out so often. So, this weekend I was baking a new variation on that beloved recipe with apples and nuts and spices; and it turned out to be a really good one! I mean – seriously good. It’s healthy, its tasty, it’s chock full of apple chunks and nuts, got great spices, a touch of sweetness and it’s just fantastic (yes, I know, I’m gushing over bread – this maybe pregnancy related, or just good bread… Y’all try it out and let me know).

To make this healthier I made it with whole wheat flour, and greek yogurt and applesauce in place of any oil. The apple sauce also adds extra apple flavor to the bread. Add 2 apples and some nuts and you have a very hardy and healthy quick bread. I was snacking on a slice today and it is just as good toasted as it is fresh out of the oven.

Apple Nut Bread

Ok, enough gushing over the bread – but really, make it, it’s worth it!

Apple Nut Bread
2 ½ c flour (I used whole wheat)
¾ c brown sugar
4 tsp baking soda
1 tsp salt
1 egg
½ c vanilla greek yogurt
½ c apple sauce (I used the no sugar added)
¼ tsp ground cloves
¼ tsp Allspice
½ tsp nutmeg
1 tsp cinnamon
¾ c milk
2 c apples, chopped (2 small granny smiths)
1 c chopped pecans

Topping
¼ c white sugar
1 tsp cinnamon

Pre-heat oven to 350ᵒ and grease 2 8”x4” bread pans.

Mix all of the ingredients until well combined. Pour about 1/6 of the batter into the bottom of each pan, sprinkle a bit of the cinnamon sugar mixture over the batter. Pour another 1/6 of the batter into the baking pans, top again with a bit of the cinnamon sugar mixture and top with the remaining batter then cinnamon sugar.

Bake for 60 – 70 minutes, keeping an eye on them the last 10 to 15 minutes to make sure the tops don’t burn. (with the chopped apples, apple sauce and greek yogurt, this takes a little longer to get to completely done).

16 slices: 1 slice (estimated) – 212 Calories, 6g Fat, 37g Carbs, 4g Fiber, 5g Protein, 19g Sugar

