Tags

, , , ,

Pina Colada PancakesI had some pineapple and bananas that needed to be used when Saturday morning rolled around. As I am so VERY over all this cold weather, I decided I was going to go a bit tropical with breakfast. I figured, with what I had on hand I could make a pretty tasty pina colada inspired pancake (it’s a favorite beach drink for hubs and me – and one I’ve missed with the little one on the way). So, I started throwing things in a mixing bowl, and these pancakes were created. They were a nice, kind of summery breakfast amid all this dreary and frigid weather.

I went big on these, so one pancake was really enough. Topped with some yogurt, and it was a very tasty breakfast. Had there been extra pineapple, I probably would have diced that up and served it on top for a bit more fruit. And if you were thinking ahead and had some coconut yogurt on hand, that would be pretty stellar served with these as well.

Pina Colada Pancakes
2 very ripe bananas, mashed
1.5” cored, peeled pineapple (you know, the kind you get in the plastic tubs in the produce section), chopped and mashed
1/3 c pineapple juice
2 eggs
1/3 c vanilla greek yogurt
1 tsp baking powder
½ tsp salt
¼ tsp coconut flavoring
1 c whole wheat flour
½ c toasted unsweetened shredded coconut

Combine all ingredients, mixing until well combined.

Pour ¼ of the batter onto a hot, lightly greased skillet over medium-high heat. Cook until lightly browned on both sides.

4 Pancakes – 1 pancake (estimated): 309 Calories, 10g Fat, 48g Carbs, 8g Fiber, 10g Protein

